[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 113: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 5312: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3925)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 5312: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3925)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 5312: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3925)
Can we customize the "Continue" button? - Field Day Forums
Can we customize the "Continue" button?
  • tnelson
    Posts: 12
    Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2016 11:44 am

    Can we customize the "Continue" button?

    by tnelson » Tue Nov 08, 2016 11:51 am

    Because I'm working on a project in French, it would be nice to be able to change the "Continue" button (e.g. on plaques) to a French word (I use "Continuez" in conversations, etc.)
  • User avatar
    chrish
    Posts: 251
    Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2016 5:45 pm
    Location: Albuquerque, NM
    Contact:

    Re: Can we customize the "Continue" button?

    by chrish » Tue Nov 08, 2016 4:37 pm

    It maybe would be possible to do so with Javascript (in the plaque itself, choose Javascript and/or have the button authored by code in the plaque's text) but I haven't tried yet. Come to think of it, I don't really understand what the choice of "javascript" for the continue button even means. Since there isn't a separate place to put the script, wouldn't you be authoring it in the plaque text and the script running regardless?
  • WaterGuerrilla
    Posts: 57
    Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 4:43 pm

    Re: Can we customize the "Continue" button?

    by WaterGuerrilla » Wed Nov 16, 2016 5:18 pm

    I lack the javascript chops to comment on Chris's suggestion, but I too would find utility in a customizable Continue button. Like to make it bigger or change the color. Some of our users, often I find the older and less app savvy ones, have difficulty understanding that they need to keep pressing things to get to the next screen. This is only an aesthetic but not functional hurdle for the majority of younger users who quickly adapt because they are used to touching screens until stuff happens.

    A minor ask, perhaps, but now that we have a handle on the guts of what's possible using ARIS, it's the user interface and experience hurdles that I find our field-testers are often most dissatisfied with--and I feel basically powerless to address over half of their understandable concerns. It could be that I need to do more to learn javascript or mine javascript libraries to understand what flexibility is already out there.
  • miramyllyla
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 4:31 am

    Re: Can we customize the "Continue" button?

    by miramyllyla » Fri Jul 07, 2017 3:53 am

    Hi,

    Same here - I was thinking about this as well. "ContinueKey" is a bit clumsy expression and I really hope this could be modified by the game designer. UI is very interesting component for me at least and even though so many cool things are being able to do with ARIS, I also think user experience and interface are playing a bigger role in every app more than ever.
  • User avatar
    chrish
    Posts: 251
    Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2016 5:45 pm
    Location: Albuquerque, NM
    Contact:

    Re: Can we customize the "Continue" button?

    by chrish » Mon Jul 10, 2017 5:34 pm

    Both in Quests and Plaques, you can customize the continue button by choosing "javascript", but so far I only know how to customize the code that executes when the player pushes the button, not the appearance of the button itself. I want this to be possible, but I haven't been able to figure out whether it is or how to do it yet.
  • DerMedienwolf
    Posts: 3
    Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2018 4:56 am

    Re: Can we customize the "Continue" button?

    by DerMedienwolf » Fri Feb 09, 2018 4:59 am

  • DerMedienwolf
    Posts: 3
    Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2018 4:56 am

    Re: Can we customize the "Continue" button?

    by DerMedienwolf » Fri Feb 09, 2018 5:01 am

    Are there any solutions right now?
    Can someone post the javascript code?

    We also search for the code to customize the "ContinueKey" label.

    Thanks!
  • User avatar
    djgagnon
    Site Admin
    Posts: 133
    Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 10:52 pm
    Location: Madison, WI
    Contact:

    Re: Can we customize the "Continue" button?

    by djgagnon » Mon Feb 12, 2018 12:58 pm

    There are two ways to do this:

    1. Use localization. If it's really a matter of French language for french speakers, you likely have the device in French localization mode. ARIS has been translated into French, replacing all the english words with whatever is defined in https://github.com/ARISGames/iOSClient/ ... le.strings

    That said, if we have a gap, please help us fix it with a new copy.

    2. For arbitrary relabeling of the button, a developer could add a new ARISjs command. You could then use this new command, right from the main text of the plaque, to set the label. If I had to guess, this would be an easy 1/2 day project for an experienced iOS developer. That's too small for us to setup a contract, but I could ask one of the developers I know if they want to take an evening/weekend job.

    David
  • cleffingwell
    Posts: 50
    Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 7:45 am
    Location: Eau Claire
    Contact:

    Re: Can we customize the "Continue" button?

    by cleffingwell » Mon Feb 12, 2018 1:10 pm

    The bottom 'continue button function' area of a plaque is a reserved space for ARIS. We have created our own 'Continue buttons' but we utilize the option to select 'none' for the built in 'continue button function' plaque button, then create our own continue button styled anyway we want within the text area of the plaque using HTML/CSS/Javascript. One problem is that it is no longer at the very bottom of the device screen because of the reserved space at the bottom where the regular ARIS continue button would be. That area is just blank if you choose the 'none' option for the 'continue button function'.

    Our continue code uses standard button techniques and ARISjs to send a user to something.

    We have not tried to make this alternative work on a quest yet.
  • User avatar
    chrish
    Posts: 251
    Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2016 5:45 pm
    Location: Albuquerque, NM
    Contact:

    Re: Can we customize the "Continue" button?

    by chrish » Fri Feb 16, 2018 2:27 pm

    Charles or ARIS team who worked on MLS, do you have something that approximates sample code? I get this question a lot. It seems like quests and plaques have been designed for something like this, but I can't quite put together the pieces.

    Does the existing label have a name?